770-954-5271 hq@fayettedems.org
Select Page

Fayette County’s Public Arts Committee has been established by the Fayette County Board of
Commissioners. The purpose of the Public Arts Committee is to make recommendations to the Board of
Commissioners of Fayette County as to find ways to use art to enhance the County’s reputation, to
contribute to the civic environment, to enrich the lives of citizens and visitors through the involvement of
amateur and professional artists, and to integrate public arts throughout Fayette County. The Public Arts
Committee aims to acquire, cultivate, and perform responsible stewardship of public arts, to enhance the
dignity of Fayette County through the commitment to artists and their disciplines as integral elements of
economic vitality and development. Fayette County’s Public Arts Committee offers opportunities and
support to citizens, emerging students, amateur and professional artists, arts education resources, and
public beautification arts projects. Its mission is to change the way the Fayette County community
approaches arts and culture. The goal of the Fayette County Public Arts Committee is to become a leader
in the arts through conceptualizing, implementing, organizing, and executing art projects and programs for
the citizens. The first order of business for the members of the Public Arts Committee is to formulate the
vision and long-range goals of the Public Arts Committee and to forward the same to the Board of
The Fayette County Public Arts Committee is to be comprised of seven members. The terms for each
member is two years. Only Fayette County citizens are eligible for appointment to the committee.
Meetings will occur regularly on the first Wednesday and third Monday of each month. Meeting times for
this committee are at 7:00 p.m. All members serve without compensation but may be reimbursed for actual
expenses incurred in connection with their official duties if such expenses are approved by the County
The Fayette County Board of Commissioners informs all interested and eligible Fayette County citizens that
one unexpired position is available to those interested in serving on the Public Arts Committee. The
unexpired term begins immediately and will expire on May 31, 2018.
Fayette County will be accepting applications and resumes for this position. Applications can be obtained
by visiting www.fayettecountyga.gov or by contacting Tameca White at twhite@fayettecountyga.gov. All
applications must be returned to Tameca White at 140 Stonewall Avenue West, Suite 100, Fayetteville,
Georgia by 5:00 p.m. on Friday, August 18, 2017.
Issued: July 19, 2017
Contact: Tameca P. White, County Clerk