Ernest C. Broadwell Legacy Award


All individuals living within Fayette County and a member of the Fayette County Democratic Committee.

Award Criteria

The Fayette County Democratic Committee will present this award annually when it has identified an individual determined to be an outstanding leader who has made an exceptional contribution to the community. This person must exemplify the ideals of the Democratic Party and the qualities that we have long admired in Ernie Broadwell (current Parliamentarian and Past Chair of Fayette County Democratic Committee).

These qualities include integrity, courage, and selfless service to the community, passion, commitment to citizen participation, coalition building and ability to mentor others. The individual who is selected for this award must have a significant record of achievement on issues that matter to the community. Democratic activism is a positive factor in the selection process.

Nominations will be accepted each year after the Selection Committee is announced. Nominations are open to all members (in good standing) of the Fayette County Democratic Committee. Nominations should include a brief statement of why that individual fits the award criteria. This award recognizes an extensive history of exemplary work for the Democratic Party of Fayette County, City of Fayetteville and /or the 3rd Congressional District. The nominee shall have an extensive record of accomplishments, extraordinary in nature, and a proven history of leadership. This award is reserved for those who are the best of all time or the best of their generation. In addition to a record of exceptional accomplishment, a stellar record of personal integrity, and a history of doing what was best for the city, county state or nation, are required, and must be in the highest tradition of Democratic values and public service. This award is subject to the awards committee decision, whether the nominees’ are qualified. This is an annual award based on a nominee meeting the criteria as outlined. Should there be no qualified individual (based upon the selection criteria) then the award will be postponed until the following year.

Past Winners

  • 2014, Tish Naghise
  • 2015, Kevin Madden
  • 2016, Virgil Fludd